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Welcome and Introduction 
Welcome to the Vital Records System (VRS) training program.  

This training module focuses on creating birth records.  It is 

designed for midwives, birth clerks, and other hospital 

personnel who may be responsible for acquiring or entering 

birth data.  If you are new to VRS, this training module will 

show you how to create and update an accurate birth record.  

If you have experience in VRS, this module will serve as a 

refresher and may give you helpful hints moving forward. 

Intended Outcome 
It is very important to enter birth information accurately and 

completely.  Not only is it required by statute, but it can be 

difficult and costly for families to change records at a later 

date.  Some records require a signed affidavit to be changed 

and others require a court order.  All future changes have 

monetary costs associated with them.  These are burdens 

that we don’t want to put on parents. By entering data 

correctly you will help ensure that families will not have to 

pay for changes in the future. 

Nevada Revised Statutes require the state to check birth 

certificates for completeness and accuracy.  That means that 

if you do not enter a birth record correctly, you will be asked 

to correct it.   

NRS 440.150 states, “The State Registrar shall carefully examine the certificates received from the local 

health officers, and if they are incomplete or unsatisfactory the State Registrar shall require such further 

information to be furnished as may be necessary to make the record complete and satisfactory.” 

Further, NRS 440.220 states, “If any certificate of birth is incomplete, the local health officer shall 

immediately notify the person who produced the certificate and require him or her to supply the 

missing items if they can be obtained.” 

Please keep these things in mind as you are collecting and entering birth data.  Nevada Revised Statutes 

require that you fill out records accurately and completely. 

This module is designed to give you some tips and tricks to navigating VRS and also addresses many 

frequently asked questions.  By the end of the training you should be comfortable completing a birth 

record accurately so that individuals and families will not have to deal with the time consuming and 

costly consequences of making changes to the record.  Remember, it’s important to fill out records 

accurately and completely to the best of your ability. 

NRS 440.220 
“If any certificate of 

birth is incomplete, 

the local health 

officer shall 

immediately notify 

the person who 

produced the 

certificate and 

require him or her to 

supply the missing 

items if they can be 

obtained.” 
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What is Required and When? 
The hospital must prepare a birth certificate, secure the 

signatures required by the certificate, and submit it to the 

county or state registrar within 10 days of a hospital birth. 

NRS 440.280 states:  “If a birth occurs in a hospital or the 

mother and child are immediately transported to a hospital, 

the person in charge of the hospital or his or her designated 

representative shall obtain the necessary information, 

prepare a birth certificate, secure the signatures required by 

the certificate and file it within 10 days with the health 

officer of the registration district where the birth occurred.” 

It’s important to emphasize, however, that the initial record 

of birth should be created as soon as possible after the birth 

with the information that is known. The record can then be 

modified at a later time within the 10 day period as more 

information is gathered.  If you start the record at the last minute, you risk missing a required piece of 

information that you might not be able to get quickly. 

You will learn more about tabs in coming sections, but for now just keep in mind that the tabs to be 

populated in full or in part by the hospital are: 

 Child Tab 

 Mother Tab 

 Mother 2 Tab 

 Father Tab 

 Facility Tab 

 Prenatal Tab 

 Labor and Delivery Tab 

 Newborn Tab 

  Signature Tab (Attendant and Certifier Paragraph)   

  

NRS 440.280 
 

“If a birth occurs in a 
hospital…the person 

in charge…will 
secure the signatures 

required by the 
certificate and file it 

within 10 days…” 
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Who is required to file a birth certificate? 

 
Let’s look at Nevada Revised Statues to find out what the law says about who is required to file a birth 

certificate. 

NRS 440.280  Duty of registering birth: Persons required to file; time for filing; required information. 

  1.  If a birth occurs in a hospital or the mother and child are immediately transported to a hospital, 

the person in charge of the hospital or his or her designated representative shall obtain the necessary 

information, prepare a birth certificate, secure the signatures required by the certificate and file it 

within 10 days with the health officer of the registration district where the birth occurred. The physician 

in attendance shall provide the medical information required by the certificate and certify to the fact of 

birth within 72 hours after the birth. If the physician does not certify to the fact of birth within the 

required 72 hours, the person in charge of the hospital or the designated representative shall complete 

and sign the certification. 

2.  If a birth occurs outside a hospital and the mother and child are not immediately transported to a 

hospital, the birth certificate must be prepared and filed by one of the following persons in the following 

order of priority: 

 

(a) The physician in attendance at or immediately after the birth. 

(b) Any other person in attendance at or immediately after the birth. 

(c) The father, mother or, if the father is absent and the mother is incapacitated, the person in charge of 

the premises where the birth occurred. 

3.  If a birth occurs in a moving conveyance, the place of birth is the place where the child is removed 

from the conveyance. 

4.  In cities, the certificate of birth must be filed sooner than 10 days after the birth if so required by 

municipal ordinance or regulation. 

 5.  If the mother was: 

 

 (a) Married at the time of birth, the name of her husband must be entered on the certificate as the 

father of the child unless: 

(1) A court has issued an order establishing that a person other than the mother’s husband is the father 

of the child; or 

(2) The mother and a person other than the mother’s husband have signed a declaration for the 

voluntary acknowledgment of paternity developed by the Board pursuant to NRS 440.283. 
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(b) Widowed at the time of birth but married at the time of conception, the name of her husband at the 

time of conception must be entered on the certificate as the father of the child unless: 

(1) A court has issued an order establishing that a person other than the mother’s husband at the time 

of conception is the father of the child; or 

(2) The mother and a person other than the mother’s husband at the time of conception have signed a 

declaration for the voluntary acknowledgment of paternity developed by the Board pursuant to NRS 

440.283. 

 

6.  If the mother was unmarried at the time of birth, the name of the father may be entered on the 

original certificate of birth only if: 

(a) The provisions of paragraph (b) of subsection 5 are applicable; 

(b) A court has issued an order establishing that the person is the father of the child; or 

(c) The mother and father of the child have signed a declaration for the voluntary acknowledgment of 

paternity developed by the Board pursuant to NRS 440.283. If both the father and mother execute a 

declaration consenting to the use of the surname of the father as the surname of the child, the name of 

the father must be entered on the original certificate of birth and the surname of the father must be 

entered thereon as the surname of the child. 
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A Note about Worksheets 
In addition to completing records in VRS, you may be responsible for collecting completed facility and 

mother worksheets from parents or other hospital personnel.  Worksheets are paper files that hospitals 

print out and use to collect information before entry into VRS.  

It’s important to note that these worksheets should not leave the hospital.  They need to be completed 

in the hospital before the mother leaves. 

Please see Appendices B, C, and D for examples of worksheets and ones commonly used when creating 

a birth record. 

Creating a Record 

To create a birth record, start by going to File on the top left corner of the screen, and then New Event, 

then Birth.   
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Tabs 
 

You will then come to this screen with two rows of green tabs. If you expand this window, you should 

see one row of green tabs (some browsers and screen resolutions might still show two rows).

 

On each tab there is a paragraph or field where information is usually required.  In this manual, each 

field or paragraph box is highlighted with grey, like this <field>, so that you can easily see when the 

manual is directly referencing a specific field. 

It is very important that you use the (TAB) key on your keyboard to move from field to field, 

and not by using your mouse.  There are “edit messages” that will appear only when this key is used.  

Using the mouse to drop your curser from field to field can sometimes bypass the data validation 

message and could cause you to miss a field. 

 

  



9 
 

Edit Messages 
You can attempt to save the record at any time during the entry process, but it’s best to wait until you 

have gone through all the tabs and entered as much information as possible.  For now, keep hitting your 

TAB key, until you notice a validation error telling you that a Medical Records Number is required.   

 

 

 

You can do a few things from here: 

 Clicking the “Re-Key” button will take you right to the field that needs to be completed. 

Clicking the “Override” button will bypass that field so that you can continue trying to 

save the record, and it will turn it an aqua color.   Choose this option only if you do not 

intend to enter any information in that field because it is not applicable. 

Clicking the “Query Field” allows you to save the record without entering the information, 

but it assumes you want to fill it out later.  It will turn the field into a yellow color.  Click 

“Query Field” if you intend to enter the information later, but just don’t have it at the moment. 
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Clicking the “Skip" button will skip the field for now and will let you come back to it later.  

It will turn the field into a green color.  You will be prompted to enter this information again 

before the record can be saved. 

Once you have made your selection, VRS will either allow you to Re-Key, or will again attempt to save 

the record.  If you are missing any more fields, it will prompt the user with a message similar to the 

above validation message. 
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Child Tab 

 

The information on this tab is informed by the Mother Worksheet. 

Required Fields on the Child Tab:   

 Infant Medical Record Number 

 Last name (This field must be filled out to save the record and cannot be skipped, overridden, or 

queried) 

 Requested SSN? Checkbox. 

*Some fields will not prompt you to Re-Key, Override, Query or Skip when you tab over them but 

will still prompt you to fill them in upon saving. 

If you are sure you are the first to create this record, start by dropping your curser in the field called 

<State File Number>.  Type your TAB key to get to the next field called <Case File Number>.   Continue 

until you have reached the <Infant Medical Record Number>  field.   

The <Infant Medical Record Number> field is the place for you to begin entering information.  All of the 

fields prior to that will be entered by someone else at a later time.  Continue moving through the form 

using your TAB key. 

 

Remember to use the TAB button when moving from field to field.   
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If you don’t yet have the <Infant Medical Record> and you tab over it, you will see an Edit Message that 

asks you to enter the Medical Records Number.   

 

 

To skip that field and come back to it later, just click the Query Field button so that you can come back 

to it later.   

It is okay to temporarily skip information, but it’s important to remember that no errors are allowed by 

the time the record is complete and ready for review. 

Special Characters in Names 

When you have tabbed to the Child’s First Name field, it’s important to keep in mind that most special 

symbols are not allowed.  Symbols such as accent marks, tildes, diareses and circumflexes (seen below) 

are not compatible with the system.  If the first, middle, or last name contains any of the following 

marks, they should be left off the record.   
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The only two symbols allowed are okinas and apostrophes (seen below).  Okinas are sometimes used in 

Polynesian and Hawaiian names.  The following symbols are allowed in first, middle, and last names. 

 

 

Sometimes names contain hyphens, and special care should be used with these depending on how they 

are used.   

If a first or middle name contains a hyphen, the Office of Vital Records will not be able to request a 

social security card for that individual.  This means that the parents will need to get a social security 

number for their child on their own, probably by going to the Social Security Administration Office.  

What this means for you is that you should not check the Social Security Check box as shown in the 

following screen shot and should inform the parents that they will have to get a social security card on 

their own if the hyphen is used in the first or middle name. 

 

Hyphens are fine if they are used in a last name, and it is okay to check this box.  
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You’ll notice as you tab through the fields in the child’s name box that you get a validation error if you 

try to skip over the “Last Name” field. This field must be filled out in order for you to save the record. 
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Mother Tab 

When the Child Tab is as complete as possible, click over to the Mother tab.  Copy all information from 

the Mother Worksheet. 

Required Fields on the Mother Tab:   

 First Name 

 Date of Birth 

 Inside City Limits check box 

*Some fields will not prompt you to Re-Key, Override, Query or Skip when you tab over them but 

will still prompt you to fill them in upon saving. 

Keep in mind that the <Inside City Limits> box must have a Y, N, or U for Unknown. 

Also, if the mother’s mailing address is the same as her residence, you can save yourself a step by 

inserting a “Y” in <Same as Residence> box. (Note: the exception to this is if the mailing address is a P.O. 

Box.  A physical address must always be listed as the residence, or the record will be rejected by the 

Office of Vital Records). 
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Mother 2 Tab 
When you have finished with the Mother tab, click over to the Mother 2 Tab. 

Information on this tab should be informed by the Mothers Worksheet. 

Required Fields on the Mother 2 Tab:   

 Education 

 Soc. Sec. # 

 Race 

 Ethnicity 

 Mother Ever Married? 

 Mother Married at Birth, Conception, or between   

 Is Husband the Father? 

 Tobacco Use 

 Units 

 Alcohol Use During Pregnancy?  

 Drug Use During Pregnancy? 

 Did you receive WIC?  

 Height-Feet 

 Inches   

 Pre-pregnancy Weight 

*Some fields will not prompt you to Re-Key, Override, Query or Skip when you tab over them but 

will still prompt you to fill them in upon saving. 

You’ll notice that there are two different sections on this tab, one is labelled Race, and the other 

Ethnicity.  This can cause some confusion for some parents as well as those entering birth record data 

because race and ethnicity can be interpreted differently from person to person, and many residents of 

the United States consider race and ethnicity to be the same. 

For the purpose of using VRS, it’s important that you fill out BOTH the Race and Ethnicity section. 

Most people of Latino or Hispanic ethnicity in the United States consider their race to be White.  A 

smaller number who identify with the Hispanic ethnicity consider their race to be Black or African 

American.  An even smaller number identify with the Hispanic ethnicity but consider their race to be 

Asian.   

Below is the most common way (statistically) that you would categorize someone who identified with 

the Latino or Hispanic ethnicity. 
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After ethnicity you will see a section on Marital Status.  Keep in mind that couples that declare they have 

a valid domestic partnership have the same rights, protections, and benefits as married couples in the 

State of Nevada, and do not have to show proof of their domestic partnership, and married couples are 

not required to prove they are married. Therefore, if a same sex couple states that they are registered 

with the Nevada Secretary of State as a same-sex couple they do not have to provide proof that they 

have done so. This is important to emphasize.  Married couples only have to indicate they are married 

by verbally saying, “yes.”  The law says that the same is true for same-sex couples.  Same-sex couples 

only have to indicate they are registered with the Nevada Secretary of State as a same-sex couple by 

verbally saying, “yes.” 

NRS 122A.200 states, “Domestic partners have the same rights, protections and benefits, and are 

subject to the same responsibilities, obligations and duties under law, whether derived from statutes, 

administrative regulations, court rules, government policies, common law or any other provisions or 

sources of law, as are granted to and imposed upon spouses.” 
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Marital Status 

You will also notice on the Child 2 tab several checkboxes that ask about marital status.  Below is the 

state statute to help you navigate those checkboxes. 

5.  If the mother was: 

 

 (a) Married at the time of birth, the name of her husband must be entered on the certificate as the 

father of the child unless: 

(1) A court has issued an order establishing that a person other than the mother’s husband is the father 

of the child; or 

(2) The mother and a person other than the mother’s husband have signed a declaration for the 

voluntary acknowledgment of paternity developed by the Board pursuant to NRS 440.283. 

(b) Widowed at the time of birth but married at the time of conception, the name of her husband at the 

time of conception must be entered on the certificate as the father of the child unless: 

(1) A court has issued an order establishing that a person other than the mother’s husband at the time 

of conception is the father of the child; or 

(2) The mother and a person other than the mother’s husband at the time of conception have signed a 

declaration for the voluntary acknowledgment of paternity developed by the Board pursuant to NRS 

440.283.  

 6.  If the mother was unmarried at the time of birth, the name of the father may be entered on the 

original certificate of birth only if: 

 

 (a) The provisions of paragraph (b) of subsection 5 are applicable; 

(b) A court has issued an order establishing that the person is the father of the child; or 

(c) The mother and father of the child have signed a declaration for the voluntary acknowledgment of 

paternity developed by the Board pursuant to NRS 440.283. If both the father and mother execute a 

declaration consenting to the use of the surname of the father as the surname of the child, the name of 

the father must be entered on the original certificate of birth and the surname of the father must be 

entered thereon as the surname of the child. 

A Declaration of Paternity or Paternity Form may need to completed if the mother was unmarried 

during the birth per the above statute. 

  



19 
 

Assisted Conception  

The Assisted Conception fields follow the Marital Status 

section. 

If this was not an assisted conception, just mark an N in 

the <Assisted Conception? Y/N> field.  All fields and check 

boxes in that field will then grey out and you can move on 

to the next section. 

If it was an assisted conception, then the rest of the fields 

will be required. 

It’s important to note that if the egg was from the 

intended mother (as seen in the example below) an 

agreement or court order is not typically required. 

However, if the egg was donated or there was a surrogate 

mother then an agreement or court order is required to 

show that the donor gave up all rights and 

responsibilities.  In the case of a donor egg, there must be 

adequate documentation that the donor gave up all rights and responsibilities.  

If you have questions about what may be required, it’s a good idea to contact the Office of Vital Records.  

Once the paperwork is complete, it can be scanned and emailed or faxed to the Office of Vital Records.  

The fax number is (775) 684 4156.  

  

NRS 122A.200 
 

Domestic partners 
have the same rights, 

protections and 
benefits, and are 

subject to the same 
responsibilities…as 
are granted to and 

imposed upon 
spouses. 
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Father Tab 
When you have finished with the Mother 2 Tab, click over to the Father Tab. 

This tab is informed by the Mother Worksheet. 

If questions answered in the <Marital Status> paragraph on the preceding tab indicate there is no father, 

then all fields on this tab will be greyed out and the certifier should skip to the Facility Tab. 

If there is a father listed then certain information is required on the father tab. 

Required Fields on the Father Tab:   

 Date of Birth (If unknown enter 99/99/999) 

 State of Birth 

 State (of residence) 

 Soc. Sec. # 

 Ethnicity 

*Some fields will not prompt you to Re-Key, Override, Query or Skip when you tab over them but will 

still prompt you to fill them in upon saving. 

 

 

Again you will notice that there is a section called Race, and another one called Ethnicity.  This can cause 

some confusion for some parents as well as those entering birth record data because race and ethnicity 

can be interpreted differently from person to person, and many residents of the United States consider 

race and ethnicity to be the same. 
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For the purpose of using VRS, it’s important that you fill out BOTH the Race and Ethnicity section. 

Most people of Latino or Hispanic ethnicity in the United States consider their race to be White.  A 

smaller number who identify with the Hispanic ethnicity consider their race to be Black or African 

American.  An even smaller number identify with the Hispanic ethnicity but consider their race to be 

Asian.   

Below is the most common way (statistically) that you would categorize someone who identified with 

the Latino or Hispanic ethnicity. 
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Facility Tab 
When you have finished with the Father Tab, click over to the Facility Tab. 

This tab is informed by the Facility Worksheet. 

Required Fields on the Facility Tab:   

 Sex 

 Date of Birth 

 Time of Birth  

 Primary Source of Payment 

*Some fields will not prompt you to Re-Key, Override, Query or Skip when you tab over them but will 

still prompt you to fill them in upon saving. 

Here is where you will indicate the < Sex>, <Date of Birth> and <Time of Birth>. 

Make sure to enter “M” or “F” for the sex of the child.  In very rare cases, the sex of the child could be 

unknown, in which case you would enter a “U” in this box. 

Finally, <Time of Birth> (as seen circled below) is a very important field and must be filled out for the 

Office of Vital Records to accept the record. 
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Choices for <Primary Source of Payment> can be seen in the next screen shot: 

 

 

Please note:   In the event that the payment method comes from a person’s employer, please mark 

“Private Insurance.”  It is a common error to select OTHER and then specify the name of the private 

employer. 

For example, the following graphic shows what should be (and should not be) indicated if a person is 

employed by Southwest Airlines and is using his or her employer’s insurance.  
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The final field in this section is the Informant field.  This is the person who has been the primary 

informant of birth record information. Typically it is the mother (and it is pre populated with the 

mother’s information if you entered it earlier), but can be any of the people listed in the dropdown 

menu. 
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Foundlings 
 

You will not have foundling tab on your screen if you are logged in as a hospital, but it’s important to 

know what is needed in the event a child is found with no mother or father. 

You should document a foundling the same way you would a normal birth, except that you will use the 

foundling report instead of an informant. 

The foundling report should include the date and place the child was found, as well as the sex, race, 

approximate age, name and address of the person or institution where the child has been placed, and 

the name given to the child by the finder or custodian.  Several of the fields will auto-populate when the 

hospital is selected. 

      NRS 440.330 states the following for the registration of foundling and the contents of report. 

 1.  Whoever assumes the custody of a living child of unknown parentage shall immediately report, on 

a form to be approved by the Board, to the local registrar of the registration district in which such 

custody is assumed, the following: 

(a) Date of finding or assumption of custody. 

(b) Place of finding or assumption of custody. 

(c) Sex. 

(d) Color or race. 

(e) Approximate age. 

(f) Name and address of the person or institution with whom the child has been placed for care, if any. 

(g) Name given to the child by the finder or custodian. 

2.  The place where the child was found or where custody has been assumed shall be known as the 

place of birth, and the date of birth shall be determined by approximation. 

3.  The foundling report shall constitute the certificate of birth for such foundling child, and the 

provisions of this chapter relating to certificates of birth shall apply in the same manner and with the 

same effect to such report. 

 4.  If a foundling child shall later be identified and a regular certificate of birth be found or obtained, 

the report constituting the certificate of birth shall be sealed and filed and may be opened only upon the 

order of a court of competent jurisdiction. 
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Prenatal Tab 
All information on this tab is to be informed by facility worksheet. 

When you have finished with the Foundling Tab, click over to the Prenatal Tab. 

Required Fields on the Prenatal Tab:   

 Total Number of Previous Births 

 Date of Last Live Birth 

 Now Living 

 Now Deceased 

 Term Number 

 Last Termination 

 Prenatal Care? 

 Prenatal Begin Date 

 Prenatal End Date 

 Total Prenatal Visits 

 Risk Factors – Medical History 

 Risk Factors – Infections 

 Obstetric Procedures 

*Some fields will not prompt you to Re-Key, Override, Query or Skip when you tab over them but will 

still prompt you to fill them in upon saving. 

 

The <Date Last Normal Menses Began> is not a required field but it is IMPORTANT.  Please always fill in 

this field as it has important implications for the health record of the child and also has public policy 

implications.  Please always populate the field: <Date Last Normal Menses Began>. 
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Labor and Delivery 
When you have finished with the Prenatal Tab, click over to the Labor and Delivery Tab. 

All information on this tab is to be informed by Facility Worksheet. 

Required Fields on the Labor and Delivery Tab:   

 Mother’s Weight 

 Mother Transferred to the Facility? 

 Onset of Labor 

 Was delivery with forceps attempted and unsuccessful? 

 Was delivery with vacuum attempted and unsuccessful? 

 Fetal presentation at birth 

 Final Method of Delivery 

 Maternal Complications 

*Some fields will not prompt you to Re-Key, Override, Query or Skip when you tab over 

them but will still prompt you to fill them in upon saving. 
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Newborn Tab 
When you have finished with the Labor and Delivery Tab, click over to the Newborn Tab. 

All information on this tab is to be informed by facility worksheet. 

Required Fields on the Newborn Tab:   

 5 Min Apgar 

 10 Min Apgar  

 Obstetric Estimate of Gestation 

 Plurality 

 Infant Trans 

 Infant Living? 

 Breastfeeding?   

 Abnormal Conditions 

 Congenital Anomalies 
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 NRS Compliance 

*Some fields will not prompt you to Re-Key, Override, 

Query or Skip when you tab over them but will still 

prompt you to fill them in upon saving. 

Keep in mind that the <Plurality> field will default to 01 if 

there is only one birth, and must be manually changed if 

there are multiple births. 

The Y/N Box that asks if the birth was compliant with NRS 

442.050 is referring to placement of germicide in the eyes of 

newborn baby.  

NRS 442.050 
 

“It shall be unlawful 
for any physician or 
midwife practicing 

midwifery to neglect 
or otherwise fail to 

instill or have 
instilled in the eyes 

of the newborn baby, 
immediately upon its 

birth, some 
germicide of proven 

efficiency in 
preventing the 
development of 

ophthalmia 
neonatorum.” 
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Multiple Births 
In the event of twins, triplets or other multiple births, it’s important to fill out the mother worksheet 

with a multiple births worksheet (see Appendix D). 

Enter information as you normally would on all tabs and make sure the record is saved.  Then in the top 

left navigation bar to “Save as Twin” as seen below. 

This will retain the mother’s information but allow you to enter baby-specific information for each birth. 
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Signature Tab 
Required Fields on the Signature Tab:   

 Title 

 Signed? 

Keep in mind that the Attendant is the physician or medically trained person who attended to the 

delivery of the child.  When the correct Attendant is selected, many of the fields will auto populate. 

The facility information for the paternity processing must be completed before the Facility Complete 

box can be marked as a “Y.”  Remember, paternity forms must be free from white out, eraser marks and 

scribbles. 

Finally, remember to mark a Y and indicate a date when you as the certifier have completed the record.  

This will indicate that you have completed it to the best of your ability. 

Before you submit your completed record, make sure to double check all entries, and if possible, have 

the mother or father confirm the information from the facility information verification form. As 

mentioned earlier, these types of errors can cause costly court fees to correct in the future.  

Remember to mark the Facility Complete box with a “Y” when the record is complete and ready to be 

submitted to the county or state registrar for the state file number assignment. 
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At this time you should press the save button at the top right corner of your screen.  You will be 

prompted if you have missed any required fields, and you can either re-key, override, query or skip 

those. 

 

 

You’ll know when you’ve saved the message when you see the “Event data was saved.” 
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Reject Tab & Flags Tab 
These tabs are used for project tracking and can be left blank. 
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How to Save and Fix Your Work 
If you are new to VRS, it’s important to know that there are a number of fields that require information 

before you can save the record.  The required fields for each tab are documented earlier in this manual. 

Once a document is saved, it’s best to use your work queue to access and update it.  You can access your 

work queue by going to the top toolbar and clicking work queue, like this: 
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Searching for a Record 
If you need to find a record that is not in your work queue, you will need to search for it. 

To search for a birth record that has already been created, go to Search on the main menu bar and 

select Birth as seen below: 

 

You should then see the Search Criteria below: 

 

It’s best to search by the Child’s <Date of Birth>, and if necessary, one other field, but searching using 

too many fields can yield no results.  Also, do not search by facility name as the database keeps that field 
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separate in the security role information.  When you have found the record you are looking for, double 

click to open it. 
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Adding Notes 
Sometimes you will find yourself needing to explain something on a record that is not easily indicated 

given the fields available to you.  When this occurs, you are very much encouraged to write a note, as it 

will help staff members in the Office of Vital Records process the record. 

To leave a note, it first must be saved and in your work queue.  Once that’s done, and you’re in the 

record that you want to update, go to “Actions” up on upper blue task bar, then “Show notes” as see in 

the picture below: 
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On the notes screen, select the field associated with the note you are adding.  For example, if you need 

to explain something about a paternity, select B2_PATERNITY_STATUS as in the picture below. 

 

Stillbirths & NRS 440.340 

Before we look at what NRS says about stillbirths, let’s see how NRS defines birth. 

NRS 440.030 -- live birth means a birth in which the child shows evidence of life after complete birth. A 

birth is complete when the child is entirely outside the mother, even if the cord is uncut and the 

placenta still attached. The words “evidence of life” include heart action, breathing or coordinated 

movement of voluntary muscle. 

Notice that evidence of life includes heart action, breathing OR coordinated movement. 

It’s important to remember that this is written as an “or” not an “and.” 

If a baby has only one of those things present, it is a live birth.  If there is a heart action OR a breath 

OR a coordinated movement, it is considered a live birth. 

NRS 440.340 gives the following guidance on stillbirths: 

Registration of stillborn children 
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1.  Stillborn children or those dead at birth shall be registered as a stillbirth and a certificate of stillbirth 

shall be filed with the local health officer in the usual form and manner. 

2.  The medical certificate of the cause of death shall be signed by the attending physician, if any. 

3.  Midwives shall not sign certificates of stillbirth for stillborn children; but such cases, and stillbirths 

occurring without attendance of either physician or midwife, shall be treated as deaths without medical 

attention as provided for in this chapter. 

Closing 
Thank you for completing the birth record training module.   

The creation of a birth record happens at an exciting time in a parent’s life, and he or she may not be 

focused on the accuracy of a birth record.  But you now have the proper training to ensure that their 

record is complete and accurate. 

By doing this, not only are you upholding Nevada Revised Statutes and Nevada Administrative Code, but 

you are giving parents and their child a solid record that does not have to be changed later. 

 

 

 

 

 

  



41 
 

Appendix A -- Evaluation 
 

Please rate the following statements from 1 to 5: 

 

Participant Evaluation Results 

 Strongly 

Agree 

 

Agree 

 

Neutral 

 

Disagree 

Strongly 

Disagree 

1. I understand the importance of vital 

records and that it’s the law that I create 

them accurately and completely to the 

best of my ability. 

     

2. I understand that incorrect vital records 

can lead to hardships for living family 

members in the future. 
     

3. I understand who is required to fill out 

vital records. 

 

 
 

   

4. I understand all the fields that I am 

required to fill in within the VRS system for 

a birth. 

 

 

 

   

5. I understand how to search for a record. 
 

 
   

6. I understand how to update a record after 

it has been created by me or someone 

else. 
 

 
   

7. I understand that a birth record must be 

completed within 10 days of the birth. 
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Appendix B 
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Appendix C 
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Appendix D 
 

 


